The holidays

There is nothing as impactful between partners as going on holiday together.
From spending “some” time together it suddenly becomes spending “all” the time together – from waking up in the same room, to going to the same places, at the same time, and so on.

There is, virtually, no break from each other.

Unless, of course, two (or more) have the emotional intelligence to say – listen, I want to spend some time on my own, or whatever. There is no drama necessary, just a factual, adult, request, to another adult.

The other “impactful” element of the holiday is, of course, money.

Hard cash. Who pays for what, how is it financed, how is it kept “fair”?

Of course, dear reader, I do not have the answer as I believe each party ought to make their own arrangements. But, if we talk about fairness, there is something to be said. Do each party pay in a % of their income (which may still not reflect the available amount to be spent on holiday and may just erode the “poorer” side’s savings), or does the wealthier party pay for “everything” (which may feel the whole thing as a sugar daddy trip?)

Or, do the parties talk about this and enter an informed, consented, and amenable way, listening to common sense, feelings, and so on?

It is not for me to answer this on your behalf – sorry – but isn’t it great to have the simple capability to talk about it, and to reach a working arrangement with your travel companion(s)?

I reflect on this as I sit having a coffee, as this was a point of contention on a previous relationship. I would insist on paying “half” of the holiday, as it was “fair”, even though my ex earned four times as much as I did. I could barely afford it, it would eat into my savings, and, basically, would cripple me financially. But I did not have the maturity to raise the issue (I did raise wanting to pay half as “fair”), but not “I am crippled by this financial decision, can we revisit?”

I am not trying to appoint blame here – just to raise and highlight something that I have experienced from the other side now – which has made for a much more enjoyable holiday altogether.

Worth the effort, I think – but requires a level of maturity.

Leave a comment